Healthy Eating

It is important to eat a healthy well balanced diet and the Eat Well Guide shows how much of what we eat overall should come from each food group. Click here for more information.

Meals should be based on potatoes, bread, rice, pasta or other starchy carbohydrates. Choose wholegrain where possible.

You should eat at least five portions of a variety of fruit and vegetables a day.

Have some dairy or dairy alternatives (such as soya drinks and yoghurts). Choose lower-fat and lower-sugar options.

Eat some beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat and other protein. Aim for at least two portions of fish every week – one of which should be oily, such as salmon or mackerel.

Choose unsaturated oils and spreads and eat in small amounts.

Foods high in fat, salt and sugar should be eaten less often and in small amounts.

Drink plenty of fluids – the government recommends 6-8 cups/glasses of water a day.

For more information on healthy eating please visit NHS choices


Healthy Start

If you have a child under 4, the UK Welfare Healthy Start scheme can help you buy basic foods like milk or fruit. It aims to improve the health of pregnant women, infants, children and their families on benefits or low incomes.

If you qualify, you’ll get vouchers worth £3.10 each to spend on:

  • milk
  • fresh fruit and vegetables
  • plain frozen fruit and vegetables
  • infant formula

You can also get free vitamin supplements.

For more information about Healthy Start, see